Book Review: Play It By Ear

UntitledPlay It By Ear by Tara Frejas

Published: May 15, 2019

Purchase: Amazon

Goodreads: Goodreads

What does it really take to be a champion?

When East Genesis Project’s Jo Yihwan reluctantly pinch-hits for injured band mate Steven Bae in a reality TV-slash-talent competition, he decides he’s only in it to win. After all, he is representing his band, and the All-Kill Champion title had some handsome perks attached to it.

But he didn’t expect to meet a gutsy, driven teammate like Ha Yoojung, or feel drawn to her incandescent spirit week after week after week. He didn’t expect her to be carrying a devastating secret that could cost them the grand prize, either.

What starts as a competition becomes so much more. With careers, a long-held dream, and honor at stake, can Yihwan and Yoojung’s hearts survive?

Content warnings: Mentions of sexual assault

I got an ARC of this book in exchange for a review.

Play It By Ear is the second book to the Backstage Pass series of Tara Frejas. Since I have really liked the first book in the series, I told myself that I should read this second book as well.

This time around, the story is focused on Yihwan and a new character named Yoojoung. Yoojoung has been a trainee for a long time but can’t seem to debut due to some circumstances (which will be revealed as the story progresses). Yihwan and Yoojoung then become teammates in a reality survival show called All-Kill Champion and the story goes on showing their development as a great team and the growth of their relationship as well.

Honestly, I liked how Tara showed a new side of Yihwan. It was different from what I remembered him to be in Scandalized. I really loved the maturity and courage that Yihwan has showed here. He stood up for Yoojoung and embraced his feelings which is a huge plus points for me.

As for Yoojoung’s situation, everything seemed realistic. Being a K-pop fan for a number of years, I know that this kind of things really do happen there. Trainees give up a lot of things just to turn their dreams into reality. I’m just glad that for Yoojoung, things ended on a good note and she can finally have a fresh start.

All in all, Play It By Ear is a good read. It made me appreciate K-pop more and it gave me more insights regarding Korean entertainment culture. It’s pretty obvious that Tara knows what she writes and what she wants the readers to know or feel.

Leave a comment