Book Review: Stealing Luna

44565833Stealing Luna by Carla de Guzman

Published: April 27, 2019

Purchase: Amazon

Goodreads: Goodreads

Cora Justa Dumagat has had enough.

She is tired of watching the corrupt, fat cats of the council override the monarchy and risk the people’s lives in exchange for a payday. Despite advice from her Queen, Cora has decided to take matters into her own hands and hit the Joaquins where it hurts—to steal their precious Juan Luna painting right from under their noses in Barcelona.

The job shouldn’t be too difficult. If only Luis Ang, her ex-boyfriend, wasn’t hired to be her bodyguard.

Luis knows that Cora is up to something, and will stop at nothing to make sure she’s safe, even at the cost of Cora’s plans.

As Luis and Cora become more and more deeply entangled into each other, the more dangerous the situation becomes. Will Cora have her revenge? Or will stealing Luna be the last thing she ever does?

I got an ARC of this book in exchange for a review. Been feeling under the weather for the past few days, thus the late review. Anyhow, let’s keep this rolling, shall we?

Stealing Luna is the second book to the Cincamarre Series of Carla de Guzman. While Nina, the female protagonist of the first book in series is still in this story, the spotlight is now given to Cora, Nina’s friend.

Now, before anything else, let me just go and say that I’m really not a fan of art or paintings. Stealing Luna, giving a huge attention to the arts, became sort of a struggle for me. There are a lot of things that I do not know and do not understand. There was a point in the story where I had to stop reading and try to digest everything that I have just read.

But hey, I was so glad that I didn’t dare to give up on this story!

Cora and Luis were just too good together. I live for the scenes that they were together! I mean, you could practically feel the chemistry and attraction (or tension could be a  better word?) between the two of them. They had that past that was begging to be re-opened and fixed. And, yes, I was so glad that it got sorted out in the end.

Aside from the tension between Cora and Luis, I actually liked how Carla weaved the other characters together. These characters gave a new spin to the story and made some scenes lighter. They fit the story perfectly and one would not even think of the twist that had happened in the end.

Would I recommend this book? If you like reading about art and romance, then yes.

 

Leave a comment