Book Review: The Queen’s Game

Autumn

The-Queens-Game-Generic

The Queen’s Game by Carla de Guzman

Published: August 1, 2017

Purchase: Amazon

Goodreads: Goodreads

There are only two reasons why Nina would come back home to Cincamarre–one, if Auntie Delia promises to stop butting into her business, two, if her father died and she was made to ascend the throne to be queen.

Unfortunately for her, it was the second thing that brought her home.

As a princess who’s sunk a yacht and been caught kissing popstars, it’s easy for her aunt, the regent, to think she’s ill prepared for the throne. But Nina doesn’t think that having to fake date Felipe, the handsome, squeaky clean Prince of Concordia was the best solution for that.

Nina’s ready to learn the ropes of her new role and make it hers, and reconnecting with Felipe only makes her want to be a better queen. But is the monarchy ready for Queen Nina?

I got an ARC of this book in exchange for a review.

I have read Carla’s previous books before and when I read The Queen’s Game, it was definitely different than her other works. Well, the theme was a dead giveaway but it has a sense of maturity if compared to her previous books.

When I started reading The Queen’s Game, the prologue got me hooked almost immediately. It has a certain draw that made want to read that part over and over again. It showed right from the start that Nina was fierce and as I read along, it was proven that not only was she fierce, but she was fit to be a queen.

If I were to choose a character that really got into me, it was definitely Tito Ernie. He knew what to say at the right place and the right time. His sense of humor made things brighter and I really loved that about him. But on the side, I still hate Tita Delia. Haha.

As for Felipe and Nina, how do I even start? Their “relationship” was scripted at first but I loved how they acknowledged their feelings. I also liked the back stories which further supported their love for each other. And really. Felipe was awesome. He didn’t hold Nina back. He was just there to support her and to show her that he believes in her. I think that it made Nina braver and better. The two of them suited each other well. And omg! The letters! How could I even forget about the letters? Felipe really got me there. It may seem old fashioned but it showed his sincerity to Nina. Asdfghjkl.

So yes, after going over the hate, the joy, the kilig, the sorrow and the hotness of this story, I highly recommend this as your next read. Kudos to Carla and Nina!

Leave a Reply

