Book Review: Feels Like Summer

Autumn-2

feels like summer cover only.jpeg

Feels Like Summer by Six de los Reyes

Published: April 12, 2017

Purchase: Amazon | Print(/a>

Goodreads: Goodreads

Five-minute girlfriend. This is what Jett signs up for when she meets Adrian and his band Arabella at beach music festival Summer Storm. One kiss and the attraction is too electric to ignore, but Jett has no room for love and Adrian is Mr. Relationship who’s getting over his recent breakup. The solution? Keep it simple. Keep it casual. For three months (that’s the rule about breakups, right?), Jett helps Adrian move on and Adrian shows up on Jett’s bed whenever she wants.

Then the three months are up and neither of them are in a hurry to be the first to leave. Does Jett walk away from a potential disaster or does she finally let someone into her closely-guarded heart?

I got a copy of this book in exchange for a review.

Let me start off by saying that this story is entirely different from the other stories that I have read from Six before. If I were to describe this story in two words, let me quote a line from Winner’s recent song, Really Really. This story is HOT CHILI. I mean seriously!!! Oh my god. I did not expect this at all. Summer kung summer, bes.

I started reading this book while waiting in line for the ever blockbuster, UVExpress. The line was so long and I had nothing to do and no one to talk to so I read this one. Oh boy. I must have done the wrong thing! The story was so hot it made me look around to check if someone else was looking at my phone. I was too scared that someone might see what I was reading! Good thing the coast was clear. Phew.

Anyhow, aside from the story being hot, I really like how Six blended in the life of Arabella. The band members got their moments and we got to know them and their hardships as a band as well. The story doesn’t revolve around Jett and Adrian alone. I also liked the fact that there was still that nerdy feel in it. The museum, the experiments, the mangrove and such. Feels Like Summer isn’t just a story that’s steamy and hot (Seriously. How many times have I said that this was hot?). It was so much more than that. It showed the value of friendship, of trust and of love.

Btw, I really laughed at that cameo from Trainman! Hahaha.

All in all, Feels Like Summer is hot! Hahaha. Kidding aside, it’s a must read! I really loved the book. Kudos to Six! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

