Book Review: Better At Weddings Than You

Autumn

BAWTY.kindle.previewBetter At Weddings Than You by Mina V. Esguerra

Published: May 1, 2017

Purchase:  Amazon ($1.99 pre-order price until April 30 | $2.99 starting May 1 | Free on Kindle Unlimited)

Goodreads: Goodreads

Daphne Cardenas is the best wedding planner around, and everyone knows it. That’s why her friend Greg hired her as an emergency replacement one month before his wedding—because he fears his fiancée Helen is falling for the guy they first hired for the job.

Aaron Trinidad is new to the wedding industry but years of conference planning and loads of charm make him good at it. Really good at it. Planning the wedding of his friend Helen should be easy, and it is. To be unceremoniously fired isn’t good for his new career, but the chance to learn from the best might be the silver lining.

Aaron and Daphne have chemistry, but there’s history with Helen that at least one other person considers a threat. Who’s the planner who can fix this impending disaster?

 I got an ARC of this book in exchange for a review. (As usual.)

I first read Better At Weddings Than You through the drafts that Ms. Mina posted in Wattpad. The first five chapters got me hooked already and I knew that I wanted to read more. So when there was a chance to sign up for the blog tour, I knew I had to do it.

And here it is!

Anyhow, can I just say that I love how powerful Daphne is in this book? She’s like the it girl of the wedding (and events) industry and in a way or two, you would wish that you were someone like her. Or maybe have a friend or boss like her. Fine. Maybe if I get married in the future, I could hire someone like her. Because she is so freakin’ awesome. She gets the job done and she makes sure that the weddings reflect the personality of the couple. I mean, weddings should really be like that right? (Ehem, Helen.)

Aaron, on the other hand, hmm. How do I put it into words? If I saw someone like him, I guess I would totally turn into someone like Daphne. (No to spoilers so yeah. Let’s just keep it that way.) What I like about Aaron is that he is willing to learn about the industry. Yes, his clients were all of his sister’s friends but I could tell that he’s really systematic (It’s kind of obvious with his notebook, yes?).  Oh, and then there’s the back rub which is ASDFFGHJKL!!!

I loved the fact that some familiar characters from Ms. Mina’s stories were also present in this book. And when I say that this book is hot, IT IS REALLY HOT!!!

Leave a Reply

