On Self-Publishing

Autumn

I’ve been thinking about this for quite sometime but now it’s finally coming true!

Soooo, what, when, where and how would I be pushing through with this idea?

A few months ago, Ms. Mina V. Esguerra has created a project called #WriteBreakupSongsAbout. It isn’t a formal class but basically, participants are asked to write a short story in two weeks time, with exactly seven chapters consisting of exactly 5000 words. The story must be inspired by a One Direction song of our choice then it is up to us if we will be sending it for the project (which comes with an exclusive publishing deal) or not.

Honestly, I was excited and confident with this project. I thought writing a 5000 word short story was easy. But I was wrong. Big time. It’s very difficult to fit everything that I wanted to tell in such a little number of words. Instead of writing the story in two weeks, I finished my piece in five months.

I could easily blame writer’s block for this problem but that’s just not the only case. I had too much on my plate and all that I ever did was to procrastinate. Then one day in the very hot month of April, I decide to pick up this story again and try to finish it. And boy, I did. Hooray!

So my short story is entitled On the Sidelines. It was inspired by the song They Don’t Know About Us but the chapters were based on six other songs by One Direction. I finished the short story and it was very fulfilling and nerve wracking at the same time. This will be my first time to self-publish something on my own and I don’t know if there will be people who will be willing to purchase that. But at the end of the day, I know that this will be a milestone for me.

On the Sidelines will be available soon on Buqo for 15 Pesos. Please do wait for it but for now, here is the blurb of the story:

June told Mae that their set-up was temporary. But how long does temporary mean? A few weeks? Or maybe months? Until when should she wait before she decides that it’s time to give up? Waiting was never easy but waiting on the sidelines is worse.
Leave a Reply

