March Lovin’

Autumn

Based on the title, it might seem that this post has been long overdue but the thing is, I recently realized that March has always been an important month for me and my works. For the past three Marches, I have published three stories as well. I know it’s just coincidence but for me, March would always be special.

sttcMy first work published on a March was Almost but not Quite which was included in Say That Things Change. It was published last March 2, 2014 through different e-book stores like Google Play, Buqo and Flipreads.

Say That Things Change is a new adult romance anthology featuring stories by Filipino authors Jhing Bautista, Jonnalyn Cabigting, Katherine C. Eustaquio-Derla, Leng de Chavez, Rachelle Belaro (yours truly), Rayne Mariano, and Mina V. Esguerra.

Almost but not Quite is something that really hits home. There are scenes that I wished were true and really happened to me. Some of the characters are even based in real persons but then it all boils down to the fact that it was only just a what if and a maybe.

Anyhow, here is an excerpt of the short story that I wrote for the anthology:

Ano’ng gagawin mo kung bigla mong nakita yung sa tingin mong Mr. Right sa hindi mo inaasahang panahon at lugar? Sa ganitong pagkakataon, may dalawa kang pagpipilian. Una, palalampasin mo ang chance na ‘yon at iaasa ang lahat sa napaka-overrated na tadhana aka “Kung kayo talaga ang nakalaan sa isa’t isa, magkikita’t magkikita kayong dalawa.” Pangalawa, gagawa ka na ng first move para makilala siya at magkaroon kayo ng connection. Sabi ng iba, okay na raw na babae ang gumawa ng first move. Sa ganitong panahon daw kasi, kung maghihintayan lang kayo nung guy, baka wala ring mangyari.

I went for the first option.

mimehMy second book, entitled Moving Into My Ex’s House, was published last March 23, 2015. It was released by Pop Fiction in both print and e-book format.

This is the first book that I published that was solely written by me. It was first posted in Wattpad and it underwent a lot of changes and editing before it got published. The process was really tedious but I have to say that after all of the hardships, the waiting and everything else that went with it was all worth it.

A lot of people say that Georgina is kind of similar to me but maybe it just so happens that I put a little of myself in every character that I write. Georgina is someone who has a lot of thoughts running in her mind and could be harsh at times. But at the end of the day, she is still a simple and loving girl.

Here is the blurb of Moving Into My Ex’s House:

Georgina gets a blast from the past just when nothing was going her way. She’s homeless, cash-strapped, and helpless when her ex-boyfriend, Dwight, unexpectedly offers to let her live in his house even after the unpleasant circumstances that once broke them apart. Georgina promises him that the set-up is temporarily, but Dwight’s got other plan. He’s determined to win her back before she leaves his life again. Will Georgina give in to Dwight’s charms or will their past problems re-emerge to break them apart the second time around?

SDOS Cover.inddLastly, I have another story released this year. It was published last March 1 through Pop Fiction as well. Entitled Six Degrees of Serendipity, this story is a collaboration among six authors of Pop Fiction (hanjhanjbeybe, areyaysii, notjustarandomgirl, HippityHoppityAzure, jhingbautista and KenDaniel).

Writing my part for Six Degrees of Serendipity was not that easy. I may be used to writing these kinds of scenarios  but what really challenged me was how to put my thoughts in a limited number of words and to follow a particular story outline. I’m really not used to writing stories through a plot outline so this is a first for me. I just wish that I conveyed the scenes of Matthew and Breanna well.

Anyhow, here is the blurb of Six Degrees of Serendipity:

Matthew Dela Cruz believes that love is simply the search for the one girl who will make him feel complete. This collection of stories is about his journey to find her— and what happens when he finally does. Pop Fiction’s beloved authors hanjhanjbeybe, areyaysii, notjustarandomgirl, HippityHoppityAzure, Kwento Ni Jhingness, and kendaniel tell his story through the tales of the five girls he loved and lost before destiny led him to the one. They say that everyone is connected to everyone. In the mysterious machinations of life and love, Matthew finds out that the girl he’s been looking for all his life has always been there. In fact, she was just six degrees of serendipity away from him.

So there. I just hope that this streak would continue. Maybe I could have another work published by March 2017 as well. I’m keeping my fingers crossed on this one.

And oh, by the way, if you’re interested to buy any of the books mentioned, just click on the Books tab. Thanks!

 

Leave a Reply

