[Blog Tour] Book Review: Once Upon A Player

11

tourbanner

Once Upon A Player - CoverOnce Upon A Player by Agay Llanera

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Purchase: Amazon | Smashwords

Goodreads: Goodreads

Gorgeous college senior Val Fabian is a player in every sense of the word. She’s the star spiker of her university’s volleyball team, and she never runs out of dates. But it seems that this year, she has finally been bitten by the commitment bug. She sets her sights on an unexpected target–the unassuming yet ultra-cute Jake Clementia. Val is used to getting what she wants, and is sure she’ll snag him before graduation. But in the process of winning his heart, she is sideswiped by a surprise move that sends her tumbling from her pedestal.

First off. I really have these feels for #romanceclass stories. I don’t know why but I really like (maybe even love) reading their stories. It makes me want to continue writing and they really make me feel too much feels. Does that make sense? Lmao.

Anyhow, Once Upon a Player is a story that focuses on Val, a volleyball player. So let me get this straight. I am nowhere near being sporty and I don’t like sports that much but this story made me appreciate volleyball more. I only watch volleyball games when it is the finals of the UAAP already then that’s it. End of story. But hey! This story is too nice to let me hate sports.

So before I go on and on about my ramblings with sports, let me give a proper review to Agay Llanera’s story. I have read her first novella, Vintage Love, before and I could say that this is really way different when we look at the themes of the two stories. I kind of expected the story to be a little boring since it’s about sports but I guess I got that wrong. The way Agay wrote the story made me want to continue reading and it makes me crave for more. It’s really not just about volleyball. The story tackles so much more than that. It shows the struggles of Val in keeping up an image and in trying so hard to protect her own wall from crumbling.

Once Upon a Player discusses more than just sports and love. It shows the “battles” that could happen between friends and families. The story is much much deeper than you could actually expect and I have to applaud Agay for that. She made several things work in a single story and it does not disappoint.

If asked if I would be recommending this one to other people, the answer will be yes! It’s really a good story and it tugs your heartstrings while reading.

Author info:

Agay Llanera is a freelance writer for television and a published writer of children’s books. She is a member of KUTING, a private, non-stock, non-profit organization, which aims to be the Philippines’ foremost writers’ organization for children.

Her first romance novella, Vintage Love is available on e-bookstores (Amazon, Kobo, Buqo, Smashwords)

LINKS: Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Wattpad

Leave a Reply

