Manila International Book Fair 2014

12

Unlike the previous year, I’m really not that prepared for this year’s Manila International Book Fair. I’m not as giddy as last year as well. I don’t know if it’s because I’m working already this year because last year, I was still a college student so there’s not much stress if compared to today. Anyhow, I really have no plans of going to the book fair already since there was a typhoon and all but the free book from the Pop Fiction team was really really really nice so when I found out that the sun was shining again yesterday, I went straight to SMX.

Here’s a picture of my MIBF book haul! It’s fewer compared to last year since I wasn’t in the mood to look for bargain finds this year but hey, it’s not that bad! I got My Name is Kim Sam Soon for free then I got the rest at 20% off. I was really planning to complete my Rainbow Rowell collection but my budget is not enough so yeah. I looked for other books first.

IMG_20140920_194321I got this copy of Gifted Little Creatures by Mina V. Esguerra for free. How on earth did I get a copy? Well, blame it on my kakapalan ng mukha. Since I’m really not prepared to go to the MIBF, I didn’t even bring any book that I could ask any author to sign. Tamad much? Definitely. Anyhow, I knew that Ms. Mina will be giving away copies of her short story, Gifted Little Creatures, with illustrations during the MIBF yesterday, Sept. 20. I really wanted to have a copy so bad (I have a copy on my phone btw) since I’m a self-proclaimed fan girl of Ms. Mina. I have copies of almost all of her works (except the Luna East Compilation and NAQR 2) so that kind of explains why I wanted to have a copy of this one. So there I was, waiting at the booth of Summit Media and thinking of how on earth could I get a copy of Gifted Little Creatures. Long story short, I went to Ms. Mina (take note: I did not fall in line at all and I did not ask her to sign anything since I didn’t have a book with me) and asked if I could have a copy of this. Then viola! I have a copy already! So yeah. Ang kapal ng mukha ko. Hahahaha.

IMG_20140920_204737Here’s the only group shot that I know I’m a part of yesterday. It’s grabbed from Jonathan Teodoro (illustrator of AFGITMOLFM) by the way. Teehee.

13984_10202695555017592_3151520808721848434_n

Leave a Reply

