Say That Things Change

19

New Adult is an1836816_1464822620399005_128757469_o emerging literature category that focuses on themes of discovery and independence for characters in college to their mid-twenties. Say That Things Change is a new adult romance anthology featuring stories by Filipino authors Jhing Bautista, Jonnalyn Cabigting, Katherine C. Eustaquio-Derla, Leng de Chavez, Rachelle Belaro (yours truly), Rayne Mariano, and Mina V. Esguerra.

New Adult Quick Reads 1: Say That Things Change is currently available on the following platforms: Google Play | Flipreads (epub) | Flipreads (pdf)

Here’s an excerpt of my contribution to the book entitled Almost but Not Quite.

Naranasan mo na ba yung may makikilala ka na isang tao na sa tingin mo ay maaaring baguhin ang takbo ng buhay mo? Siya yung tao na biglang magpapabilis sa pagtibok ng puso mo sa mga pagkakataong hindi mo inaasahan. Siya rin yung taong magpapatahimik sa’yo dahil sa mga maling dahilan. Yung tipong aakalain ng ibang tao pipi ka na o kaya ay naputulan ka na ng dila.

Ano’ng gagawin mo kung bigla mong nakita yung sa tingin mong Mr. Right sa hindi mo inaasahang panahon at lugar? Sa ganitong pagkakataon, may dalawa kang pagpipilian. Una, palalampasin mo ang chance na ‘yon at iaasa ang lahat sa napaka-overrated na tadhana aka “Kung kayo talaga ang nakalaan sa isa’t isa, magkikita’t magkikita kayong dalawa.” Pangalawa, gagawa ka na ng first move para makilala siya at magkaroon kayo ng connection. Sabi ng iba, okay na raw na babae ang gumawa ng first move. Sa ganitong panahon daw kasi, kung maghihintayan lang kayo nung guy, baka wala ring mangyari.

I went for the first option. Mas pinili kong iasa ang lahat sa overrated na tadhana na ‘yan. Wala akong ginawa para mapansin niya. Sadya kasing hindi ako papansin na tao.

Lumipas ang araw at nag-krus muli ang landas naming dalawa. At that time, nilapitan niya ako at kinausap. Masaya siyang kasama to the point na minsan, hindi ko na namamalayan ang pagtakbo ng oras. Kung tatanungin ako kung pwedeng ito na ang simula ng bagong chapter sa buhay pag-ibig ko, siguro ang magiging sagot ko na lang palagi ay “Almost but not quite.”

Now I’m asking you this question. If you could change anything in your life, what would it be and why? 🙂

*GIVEAWAY*

Get a chance to win an ebook copy of NAQR 1: Say That Things Change! The ebook would be from Google Play though so be sure that you have an email address from Gmail and that you have an android device. 🙂

CLICK ME!

8 thoughts on “Say That Things Change

  1. To be honest, there is nothing I would want to change in my life. Although my life may seem in constant state of ruckus and sometimes, it just frustrates the hell out of me, still, I wouldn’t dare to change anything. I love everything that I have and every person that I know.

    Every time I would do something, I always see to it that I would not regret the decision later on. I may fail or what but I would never wish to change that. Instead, I close my eyes and whisper to myself that ‘That’s life. Accept it and move on.’ What’s life without a little spice?

  2. If I could change anything in my life, it would be the fact that I trust people too much. I’ve been a victim of bullying and backstabbing for so many years and it was because I trusted them too much. I’ve been suffering the pain that they brought but then, I didn’t change. I think it was because I’m used into it.

    On the brighter side, I consider it as a reason for me to be strong and be independent. But I do hope that one day, when I will trust a person again, I will never suffer in this matter.

  3. Alam ko, ang iba, sasabihin na wala silang gustong baguhin sa buhay nila. Na kuntento sila at masaya sa kabila ng mga pinagdadaanan nila. Naisip ko ring isagot yun. Pero bigla kong natanong ang sarili ko, ‘Masaya nga ba ako’t kuntento?’ Ang sagot ko? Hindi. Ang dami ko kasing ‘sana’ sa buhay. Ang dami kong gustong balikan na ‘sana’ pala ganito ang ginawa ko imbis na ganoon. Nakakaloko lang. Bakit ba kasi kailanman, hindi mauna ang pagsisisi?
    Kung sana hindi ko na lang binigyan ang tatay ko ng tubig na nagkataon pang malamig na bawal pa (hindi ko alam), e di sana buhay pa siya.
    Kung sana hindi ako nahiyang sabihin sa kanyang mahal ko siya, e di sana kahit wala na siya, alam niyang mahal ko siya.
    Kung sana noong bata pa ang dalawa kong kapatid, nilapit ko na sila sa akin, e di sana close kaming tatlo ngayon.
    Kung sana naging open ako sa mama ko, e di sana lahat nasasabi ko sa kanya at hindi ko tinatago na nagsusulat ako imbis na mag-aral.
    Kung sana inisip ko munang mabuti ang kursong kukunin ko bago ako pumili at pakinggan sila, e di sana hindi ako nahihirapan at iyong gusto ko ang ginagawa ko ngayon.
    Kung sana ginawa ko ang best ko sa mga nagdaang mga araw, sana hindi ako umiiyak sa gabi dahil bagsak ako sa exam.
    Kung sana hindi ako tumigil sa pagsusulat noong high school, e di sana malayo na ang narating ko.
    Nakakaiyak lang alalahanin ang mga bagay-bagay na hindi ko nagawa kahit kaya ko naman.
    Kaya kung may babaguhin man ako sa buhay ko? Simple lang ang sagot ko: AKO mismo.

  4. As of this moment, change is something really unnecessary for me right now. I may not be fully contented with what I have today and will have tomorrow but I am happy. But if it really is mandatory to ask about what change I want for myself.. it would be the fact that I am vulnerable and I no longer want to be the person that needs saving from time to time.

  5. Ako, siguro yung babaguhin ko eh yung mga bad habits ko. Too many to mention ang peg ko. So yun lang. Bakit? Kasi siyempre if I would continue those bad habits, wala na kong mararating sa buhay. Sometimes we have to accept that we need to change. Kahit ano pang gusto ko na sabihin sana na wala at dahil kung ano ako (flaws and all) hindi ko mararating yung kung nasaan ako. I believe I can do better. That’s also why I want to change 😄

  6. I am contented and happy on how my life is going but there is this one thing I want to change. And it is when I fell In love with the wrong guy. We do not have a relationship but it seemed like it all this time. He has a girlfriend and we’ve been having this thing for about 5 years. I know it’s wrong but my heart can’t bear not having him around. I’m NBSB but he’s my first kiss. Well he stole it, actually. Now we’ve parted ways and I still have this question in mind, “Naging ano ba kame?”. Because seriously I don’t know.

    I want to change this part of my life not because I want to take all the pain away, but because I want to make things right. I don’t want to hurt people especially his girlfriend. To think that his girlfriend and I are friends since high school and she doesn’t even have an inch of idea about what his boyfriend and I used to have.

    I’m now over him but still the guilt is inside. I can say that things has changed. I fell, I got hurt, but I learned. Ito ata ang necessary pain ng pagkatuto mula sa pagmamahal.

    PS. I just hope that this won’t be shared on Facebook. Or if ever my name won’t be mentioned nalang. Or you can hide my identity or something. I have my reasons. Salamat po!

  7. I want to change something in my life I just don’t know what part basta I want to change something in my life. maybe just a part of my life or my whole life.. I am 85% happy with my life, with the people around me, It’s just that why 85%? why can’t I make it a 100%? Maybe that is the reason why I want to change something in my life for me to find that 15% lacking to make to make it a 100% .
    and if I will be given a chance to change my life I would do it my way, In my own choice, plans and wants so that my life wouldn’t be like this. Because only now do i realize how life sucks when you let others do the choice and plans for your life.
    I let my family run my life and it’s okay because my life goes well and I know they will only do whats best for me but as my life goes on I slowly feel un contented maybe it is because as I let them run my life I also gave them the right to deprive me from what I truly want.
    Now that I am ready to take the risk of doing what I want even If I don’t know If It’s really the best for me It’s already too late…
    If I could just change my life I WON’T LET THEM RUN MY WHOLE LIFE..

  8. I have been through a lot of ups and downs, twists and turns, success and failures and a lot more. People would use this chance to change what they think is for the better. I’d rather accept and be contented of the struggles and pains I have been through all my life. I believe that those circumstances, be either a blissful or depressed memory, were happened to our lives for a reason. I was once a victim of bullying. Hearing those awful and hurtful words thrown at me offended not just me as a person but also my dignity. They humiliated me in public and underestimated my potential. I must say it was one of the most terrifying memory I had in my life. But it never stopped me to continue enjoying my life. I became a better student in school, joining different activities and contests being strong enough to face each and everyone of them who looked down on me like I’m nothing to them. I recovered from that fall and regained my self-confidence to show to them what I am. Today, I am a better individual because of them. If it was not for those dark times and the people behind those moments in time, I would not have bloom like a flower or come out from my shell like a turtle. You see, I don’t need to change anything in my life. Everything happens for a reason and I finally found mine. We should be contented and be happy with what we have and been through because we learned from those events in our lives. That memory right now is not a terrifying moment of my life but rather an inspirational one that I hope it would touch others hearts and lives. I believe in the saying that ‘experience is the best teacher.’, and indeed, it is.

Leave a Reply

