Book Review: The Real Score

30

The Real Sco18398844re by Kesh Tanglao

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Published: August 28, 2013

Purchase: Amazon | Smashwords | Paperback

Goodreads: Goodreads

Caitlin’s friendship with Marcus, the de facto frontman of the world’s biggest boy band Gezellig, has long been an object of scrutiny by almost everyone–their friends and families, the media, and his fans–ever since they “went public” a couple of years back. Who wouldn’t be interested? She was a nobody, catapulted into the limelight of his fame when he struck an unusual friendship with her.

To both Caitlin and Marcus, what they have is a “perfect little thing.” But then something comes along and threatens it.

In a no-holds-barred interview, will they finally be forced to settle the score?

First things first. This is one of my favorites from the #romanceclass novellas. Well aside from All’s Fair in Blog and War, this is my favorite. I have read this book twice already and guess what? It still has the same effect on me and it’s as if I’m reading the book for the very first time.

I started reading The Real Score during one of my classes last semester. It’s bad, I know but I can’t help it! Well, it’s actually a good decision since I was really sleepy during that time. So I started reading it and I got hooked! I even read it on my way home but I got dizzy so I had to stop but the moment I arrived at our house, I continued reading. That just goes to show that the story is really awesome. I just can’t stop reading it!

The Real Score is about Caitlin, the girl who practically lives by schedule and tons of to-do lists. (If she’s a real person, I might just give her a set of post-its. Lol.) She then meets Marcus, the lead singer of the well known band Gezellig. Well practically, Caitlin doesn’t know who’s who in the band and she’s not a Gezer so the moment they meet, let’s just say that it’s pretty embarrassing. But due to that, Caitlin and Marcus developed an extraordinary kind of friendship since it’s kind of a long distance thing. Feelings were proclaimed, hearts were broken and it all boils down to fighting for your love or giving up everything that you have. It’s about finding out what would really be the real score between Marcus and Caitlin and the roller coaster ride of their lives.

For the positive points of this book: The story is practically easy to understand. You could really imagine what’s happening in the scenarios. I didn’t need to force myself to imagine the scenarios. It’s as if I’m a witness to what’s happening to Caitlin and Marcus. It’s relate-able in a way that it shows how difficult it is to be a fangirl and to be the center of attention. I may not be a fangirl of any group or any person but I know some people who are like that and I could tell that it’s really difficult. The feelings of the characters are expressed very well. I think there was even a point where I almost cried while reading this book.

For the negative points of this book: If I remember it right, there were some typographical errors but it’s just very minimal. The essence of the story is still there. Oh, another thing. I want to read more! It’s bitin! Hahaha. Seriously though, I wanted to read more after reaching the last page of the ebook. That goes to show that the story is really awesome!

PS.

I’m planning to buy a paperback edition of this one. I swear. This is a must read and a must buy and I really recommend this! Kudos to the author!

Leave a Reply

