Book Review: Well Played

5(1)

Well PlaWell Played Book Coveryed by Katrina Ramos Atienza

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Published:  August 3, 2013

Purchase: Amazon | Smashwords | Paperback

Goodreads: Goodreads

Patrice Reyes is starting her junior year at the University and she’s convinced it’s going to be the best semester ever. For starters, it looks like this is the year her team will win the regional football (soccer, for you Yanks) championships. Her subjects are looking good, and there’s even a chance she might finally get somewhere with her rock star crush. But a new classmate—arrogant, cold math nerd—is seriously throwing off her groove. Will she ever get rid of him and have the awesome semester she deserves? Or is there truth to never judging (math) books by their cover?

This book review is long overdue. Anyhow, I shall start by saying that I got the Kindle edition of this books for free. Yay! I was lurking around Twitter when I saw the tweet of Ms. Mina that she would be giving away free copies of this book so I grabbed the chance and asked for it. Thank you Ms. Mina!

Now, let’s get down to business.

First off, the moment I read the book, I can’t help but remember The Despicable Guy of Leng de Chavez because the setting of Well Played is in UPLB as well. Anyhow, the story if way different so let’s set that aside. I’m actually an alumna of UP and somehow, I could relate on how the story goes especially when it’s about the university life and that’s one of the things that I loved in this story. Aside from that, the characters are very relate-able. They make readers like me feel what they are feeling. In addition to that, I could really imagine how they move, react and basically just about everything! That’s really what I’m looking for in a story and Well Played got that factor. So kudos to the author!

If there would be one thing that I find negative in this book, it’s the fact that I had a rough time moving on from the first few paragraphs or so. The start of the story is very important and it should really grab the attention of any reader at once. I encountered a problem with the start of this story but after that, my reading was smooth sailing already. Another problem that I encountered is the slow pace of the romance between the characters. It gave too much attention to the life of Patrice that the romance was sort of “forgotten”. But keeping those things aside, Well Played is still a good read.

Leave a Reply

