[Blog Tour] Book Review: Cover (Story) Girl

6(1)

CSGHeaderCover Story Girl Book CoverCover (Story) Girl by Chris Mariano

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Published:  July 30, 2013

Purchase: Amazon | Smashwords

Goodreads: Goodreads

1) She has amnesia.

2) She’s on the run from her father’s creditors.

3) She’s enjoying her last days on earth.

Ever since Jang Min Hee walked into Gio’s small museum, she’s given him one excuse after another about why she’s vacationing at scenic Boracay Island. Rarely has Gio’s neat and organized world been shaken like this. Soon he finds himself scrambling over rocks, hiding in dressing rooms, and dragging her out of bars. But how can Gio tell what’s true from what isn’t? Their worlds are getting unraveled — one story at a time.

Truth be told, I had a difficult time finishing this book. I don’t know if it’s due to my busy schedule in school or what. But luckily, I finished reading this yesterday! Just in time for my scheduled book review. Hahaha.

So Cover (Story) Girl is really about Gio’s life and how it changed since meeting Min Hee. From being the boring and safe Gio, he changed into someone who took chances in life and in love. It showcased the rich culture and history of the island of Boracay while giving a glimpse of what is it like to be a well-known personality in Korea.

For the positive sides of the story, I loved how Chris depicted the Filipino values perfectly. Also, it made me happy to read some things about Boracay way before it was the island that it is today. We have discussed that in class before and I really wish Boracay have stayed close to that. Another positive thing for this story is that it made me curious about the calamansi muffins. I haven’t heard of such thing before. So I’m really curious on how does is taste. Hahaha. Seriously though, I loved how Chris showed how Gio acted as the “father” of his family ever since his dad died. It’s really a Filipino trait that makes me respect people like Gio who would give up opportunities just to take care of his own family.

The love story of Min Hee and Gio isn’t really my favorite. Yes, there were some kilig moments but I don’t know. I guess I kind of expected more from it. I have been reading romance novels since I don’t know when and I guess the love story of Min Hee and Gio wasn’t really given much detail or attention. For me, what was highlighted was really Boracay and not much of the romance. I guess that could be one of the reasons why I had a hard time in reading the book. I wanted to see something else aside from the history and culture of Boracay. As far as I can remember, I should be reading a romance book.

The story’s still worth reading though. It made me want to go to Boracay and South Korea more.

AUTHOR PROFILE

Cover (Story) Girl is Chris Mariano’s first published romance work, but her speculative fiction and poetry have appeared in Fully Booked’s Philippine Graphic/Fiction Awards Prose Anthology, Philippine Speculative Fiction Volume 7, TAYO Literary Magazine, and Ideomancer. When she’s not writing, she supports Eskritoryo Pilipinas, an organization that encourages kids to appreciate Filipino literature and culture. She divides her time between Manila and Aklan.

LINKS: Email | Blog | Twitter

Leave a Reply

