[Blog Tour] Book Review: Vintage Love

7(1)

VintageLoveHeader

Vintage Love Book CoverVintage Love by Agay Llanera

Genre: Romance, Chicklit

Published: July 2013

Purchase: Amazon | Smashwords

Goodreads: Goodreads

26-year-old Crissy Lopez’s life is in dire need of a makeover. Her wardrobe revolves around ratty shirts and beat-up sneaks; her grueling schedule as a TV Executive leaves no room for a social life; and worst of all, she’s still hung up on the Evil Ex who left her five years ago.

When her fashionable grand-aunt passes away and leaves behind a roomful of vintage stuff, the Shy Stylista inside Crissy gradually resurfaces. Soon, she feels like she’s making progress — with a budding lovelife to boot! But the grim ghost of her past catches up with her, threatening to push her back into depression. To finally move on, Crissy learns that walking away is not enough. This time, she needs to take a leap of faith.

Truth be told, I had second thoughts on reading this story. The first few sentences made me choose to read a different book instead. But since I signed up for this blog tour, I told myself that I have to give the story a try. And after starting all over again, it was a stupid decision to delay my reading. The thing is, when I started reading it in class, I couldn’t stop reading it already! I think I finished reading it during my Biology class. Hahaha.

Vintage Love is a story that makes you want to reach your dreams as well. It’s not just about finding the one. It’s definitely much more than that. It made me realize a lot of things about life and of course, love. Being hurt because of love is really difficult to handle. It takes a lot of time before you could actually move on and leave everything else behind. That’s what makes Vintage Love so realistic. It showed the side of a boy and a girl who both got hurt in their past relationships and wanted to start a new relationship with each other. They might be haunted by their pasts but the story showed how they cope with it and how their love story will evolve.

Another positive thing that I can say with this book is that it really portrays the emotions of the characters. It showed the happy, sad or kilig moments of the characters at ease. It’s pretty obvious that the scenes are not pilit which is really a good thing.

Oh, can I just say that I really hate Benj? I know that he’s one of the twists in the story but the heck. He doesn’t have a right to do such things! I want to rant and rant here about what he has done but I can’t since I don’t want to be a spoiler. But hey, kudos to the author for making me hate her Benj’s character so much! Hahahaha.

I guess the only negative thing that I could is that the start really fooled me. I thought the story is boring. The start of the story should be able to capture the full attention of the reader. But other than that, the story is awesome. Kudos again to the author!

Author Profile:

Agay Llanera is a freelance writer for television and video, and a published writer of children’s books. She is a member of KUTING, a private, non-stock, non-profit organization, which aims to be the Philippines’ foremost writers’ organization for children. Email her at agay.llanera@gmail.com.
LINKS: Twitter | Blog

Leave a Reply

