[Blog Tour] Book Review: Icon of the Indecisive

9(1)

IGoLHeader03

Book 3 - Icon of the Indecisive Book Cover

Icon of the Indecisive (Interim Goddess of Love #3) by Mina V. Esguerra

Genre: Fantasy, Romance

Published: June 1, 2013 by Bright Girl Books

Purchase:  Amazon | Smashwords

Goodreads: Goodreads

College student Hannah Maquiling, also temporarily working as the Goddess of Love, has had enough of everyone asking for her help when it comes to relationships. It’s her turn to find romance! She deserves it, after serving as matchmaker and confidant to everyone else in Ford River College for the past year. She’s had a crush on handsome senior (and God of the Sun) Quin forever, but he’s destined to fall in love with an extraordinary mortal woman, so she’s figured her chances with him have pretty much dropped to zero.

It’s not like she doesn’t have any options for a classic college romance though. There’s Diego, God of the Sea and Quin’s best friend/enemy. And regular guy Robbie is stepping up, making sure she knows how he feels about her. How hard can it be for a goddess to find someone to love, and be loved in return?

Let me babble some things first. I just want to say that I’m really happy that I got the chance to read Book 2 and 3 of Interim Goddess of Love for free. It’s not that I don’t want to but the books (I’m just waiting for the Summit edition) okay? I’m just glad that I got to read the books for free and in advance! Yes, having the real book itself will be much better but who cares? As long as I got the chance to finish reading the story of Hannah, then I know I will be fine.

Okay so here goes nothing. I’m not being biased here (because I’m really a fan of Ms. Mina) but I really like the way the story continued. It kept me craving for something that I cannot explain. I just wanted to continue reading and reading and reading. The story of Hannah has been a roller coaster ride and just when I thought things could be predictable already, I got all of those wrong. It’s pretty amazing how Ms. Mina really manages to incorporate Philippine Mythology to a normal at first sight type of story. (Okay. I made up that term.) Anyway, I really do appreciate the fact that there were instances that Ms. Mina refreshes the memory of the readers as the story progresses. I really have a poor memory so there are times that I really can’t remember some details about a particular topic and I’m really glad that Ms. Mina helps in refreshing my memory about the story. Also, I really liked the part wherein I didn’t know whom to root for anymore. Masyado ng mahaba yung buhok ni Hannah at nakakainggit na. But seriously, I want her to end up with Quin! (I’m not gonna say anything about the end game. Don’t want to be a spoiler.)

If there is one thing that I think would be a minus to the story, that would be the fact that there are times that I just want to skip the stories about the gods and goddesses. I know that’s the highlight of the story and that makes IGoL unique but I don’t know. I guess I’m really not into history and stuff. Don’t get me wrong here. I know I said that was a positive thing but sometimes, those parts are kind of long and I tend to scan the page and move on to the next scene already. I guess it’s my fault and not Ms. Mina’s. (Goes to one corner and cries.)

Oh, can I just say that I really hate Vida? I hated her guts before, I hated more after reading Icon of the Indecisive. After finding out what happened, I really wanted to strangle her to death. I know that’s kind of impossible for me to do but whatever. She’s just too much. I guess she doesn’t have a freakin right to treat Hannah like that.

So after all of those, I just have to say that the whole trilogy is worth reading! As usual, the words that were used aren’t too much to handle. The characters really got into me. I guess they are really effective and same goes with the writing style of Ms. Mina. The whole trilogy is really unique and is something that one should never miss. Kudos to this one!

Author Profile:

Mina V. Esguerra writes contemporary romance, young adult, and new adult novellas. Her young adult/fantasy trilogy Interim Goddess of Love is a college love story featuring gods from Philippine mythology. Her contemporary romance novella Fairy Tale Fail won the 2012 Filipino Readers’ Choice award for Chick Lit. Through her blog Publishing in Pajamas (minavesguerra.com), she documents her experiments in epublishing.

When not writing romance, she is president of communications firm Bronze Age Media, development communication consultant, indie publisher, professional editor, wife, and mother. She created the workshop series “Author at Once” and #romanceclass for writers and publishers.

LINKS: Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

One thought on “[Blog Tour] Book Review: Icon of the Indecisive

Leave a Reply

