Book Review: Fairy Tale Fail

12(1)

fairy-tale-fail1

Fairy Tale Fail by Mina V. Esguerra

Genre: Chicklit, Romance

Published: April 17, 2010

Goodreads: Goodreads

Even after her Prince Charming broke up with her, she just won’t give up … because fairy tale heroines don’t live “happily ever after” right away, silly, they’re tested first!

Determined to pass the test, she spends the next year restoring herself to the girl Prince Charming had fallen in love with in the first place.

Until she discovers that life without him might not be so bad after all: her career is taking off, her confidence is back, and the cute guy at work is no longer a stranger.

So when is it okay to quit on a fairy tale?

Fairy Tale Fail is a book written by Mina V. Esguerra. Just like the case of Interim Goddess of Love, I got the chance to download an ebook of this story for free. (Thank you for that Ms. Mina!) So after downloading it, I immediately transferred it to my phone to start reading it.

On the first few scenes of the story, I was getting frustrated since I think it’s really difficult to have a date with your special someone cancelled. Aside from that, I also hate the fact that it rains on your supposed to be special day. Well, there are times that I hate rain in general since it’s really a hassle to commute when it rains but cancelling your date just because it rains? I guess that sucks.

Next off, I really do think that it’s better to start as friends before entering a relationship. Yes, it might be a huge risk to take since the friendship might be destroyed and all but I guess it’s better to know someone really well first before taking things to the next level. I guess it’s just about taking one step at a time and enjoying yourselves. But for the case of Ellie and Don, I guess that didn’t turn out well. Obviously, someone or both of them had a hard time adjusting to their new status or so.

Since I don’t want to spoil the rest of the story, I just want to say that it’s quite amazing how Ellie finds the one that’s really meant for her. It may have been done the hard way since she got hurt in the process but it’s the ending that makes everything worth it. And who would have thought that the rain could really change everything?

This story is a must read! I’m not saying this just because I read a lot of books of Ms. Mina already but this one is really relate-able and as a reader, I could really feel the emotions of Ellie and the other characters.

Leave a Reply

