Book Review: Interim Goddess of Love

13(1)

Interim Goddess oBook 1 - Interim Goddess of Love Book Coverf Love by Mina V. Esguerra

Genre: Fantasy, Romance

Published: January 14, 2012 by Bright Girl Books

Goodreads:  Goodreads

College sophomore Hannah Maquiling doesn’t know why everyone tells her their love problems. She’s never even had a boyfriend, but that doesn’t stop people from spilling their guts to her, and asking for advice. So maybe it shouldn’t be a surprise when the cutest guy in school tells her that she’s going to have to take on this responsibility — but for all humanity.

The Goddess of Love has gone AWOL. It’s a problem, because her job is to keep in check this world’s obsession with love (and lack of it). The God of the Sun, for now an impossibly handsome senior at an exclusive college just outside of Metro Manila, thinks Hannah has what it takes to (temporarily) do the job.

While she’s learning to do this goddess thing, she practices on the love troubles of shy Kathy, who’s got a secret admirer on campus. Hannah’s mission, should she choose to accept it, is to make sure that he’s not a creepy stalker and they find their happily ever after — or at least something that’ll last until next semester. (As if she could refuse! The Sun God asked so nicely. And he’s so, well, hot.)

I was one of the lucky few who got the chance to download Interim Goddess of Love for free. The moment I saw the announcement of Ms. Mina in Wattpad, I checked out the website that she gave. I registered for an account then I downloaded the copy at once. If I’m not mistaken, I was the first one to download it but I encountered a problem so I needed to download it with a different Twitter account. The moment that I finally managed to download it, I saved it on my phone. I wanted to read it already but I needed to go out out to meet some friends so sadly, it just stayed on my phone.

So I was on my way home from Mall of Asia, I decided to give the story a go. It can really make a person dizzy when he or she is reading while the FX is moving but honestly, I didn’t care at all. I got hooked on the story and I guess the dizziness was worth it. Hahaha.

To be honest, at first I had doubts about the story. I’m really not into gods and goddesses and I think that the topic would make the story a little boring. But I was wrong. It’s really amazing how Philippine mythology was incorporated in the story of Hannah. For me, it’s like reading something that can make you go kilig and annoyed and whatsoever but at the same time, you could learn something from it.

I really liked the way Hannah got through in the story. There are times wherein I really do think that Quin really likes Hannah but then he does or says something then poof! It’s gone. So I’m really confused and I just want to thump him or something. Well, back to Hannah. Sometimes, I want to be in her shoes. I think it’s really fulfilling to help other people solve their problems especially the love related ones. But when I think about it, I don’t think I’ll be able to handle all the stress and drama in her life so I really admire her for being successful in her role as a goddess.

PS.

I want to read the next book to know if she ends up with Quin or something. Hahahaha. ❤

Leave a Reply

